The winners of the 2005 Frechette Awards - the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Research Group of the International Association for Dental Research and honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 until 1977 were **Dr. Frank BUTZ**, University of Freiburg, Germany, for his study entitled "**Enhanced Hardness of Osseointegrated Bone by Titanium Surface Roughness**" and **Dr. Anna PERSSON**, Karolinska Institutet, Huddinge, Sweden for her study entitled "**Accuracy of a Laser-Scanner Using Innovative Three-Dimensional-Evaluation**" The individuals pictured are (left-to-right) Dr. Anna Persson, Frechette Award Winner, Dr. Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Group Program Chair IADR Prosthodontics Group, Dr. J. Robert Kelly, President IADR Prosthodontics Group, Dr. Takahiro Ogawa, Mentor to Dr Butz, Mr. Jim Robinson, Whip Mix Corporation and Dr. Frank Butz, Frechette Award Winner. In addition to the plaques Drs. Butz and Persson each received a check for \$1000 thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.

