2009 Frechette Awards

The winners of the 2009 Frechette Awards were recently presented at the International Association for Dental Research annual meeting in Miami, Florida. The Frechette is the annual research competition for new investigators sponsored by the Prosthodontics Group of the International Association for Dental Research and honoring the memory of Arthur R. Frechette who served as Secretary-Treasurer of the IADR from 1968 until 1977. The winners were **Dr. Cristiane Mengatto**, University of California Los Angeles, USA, for her study entitled "**New Signature of Osseointegration: Does Vitamin-D Deficiency Change Expression Profiles?**" and **Dr. Jin-Ho Phark**, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA for his study entitled "**Influence of Contamination and Cleaning on Bond-Strength to Modified Zirconia**".



The individuals pictured are (left-to-right) Mr. Allen Steinbock, President, Whip Mix Corporation; Dr. Yoko Iwase, Kagoshima University, Japan, Frechette Award Finalist; Dr. Yoshitoshi Kaneda, Osaka University, Japan, Frechette Award Finalist; Dr. Cristiane Mengatto, Frechette Award Winner, Dr. Jin-Ho Phark, Frechette Award Winner, Dr. Marineé Cabrera, New York University, NY, USA, Frechette Award Finalist, Dr. Nataliya Davydova New York University, NY, USA, Dr. Stephen F. Rosenstiel, Frechette Coordinator IADR Prosthodontics Group and Dr. Neal Garrett, President IADR Prosthodontics Group.

In addition to the plaques Drs. Mengatto and Phark each received a check for \$1000 thanks to the generous support of the Whip Mix Corporation.